Chinese PhD Candidate first awarded the OSA Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship

Data:24-09-2019  |  【 A  A  A 】  |  【Print】 【Close

For the first time, Chinese PhD Candidate, An Pan from Xi’an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics (XIOPM) CAS, was selected as the recipient of the 2019 Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship.

During the Frontiers in Optics and the 103rd Annual Meeting of the Optical Society (OSA) was open grandly in Washington DC, USA. An Pan, a Ph.D. candidate of CAS was the only one awarded the OSA Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship from a thousand applicants worldwide.

This scholarship is to reward his outstanding research on Fourier ptychographic microscopy and important community services for the creation and development of OSA student chapter. He was invited to give an oral talk entitled “Single-shot Fourier ptychographic microscopy via annular monochrome LED array” during the conference.

The Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship was co-sponsored by Canadian Institute of Physicists (CAP) and OSA Foundation (OSAF) in 2011 to commemorate the great laser spectroscopy Boris Stoicheff (1924-2010). This scholarship is awarded annually to a graduate student who has demonstrated both research excellence and significant service to optics or physics community.

Prof. Boris as a famous scientist in the 1950s, mainly engaged in Raman spectroscopy, Brillouin scattering, Rydberg spectroscopy, Diffuse interstellar bands (DIBs) and other aspects. He initially reported the high-resolution molecular spectrum and invented the first laser in Canada. He served as the president of OSA in 1976 and president of CAP in 1983-1984.

Past student recipients for this scholarship are as follows.

Robin Puchert, University Regensburg, Germany (2019)

Aimee K. Gunther, University of Waterloo (2018)

Ali Kazemi Jahromi, University of Central Florida, USA (2017)

Christopher Pugh, University of Waterloo, Canada (2016)

Itai Epstein, Tel-Aviv University, Israel (2015)

Juan Nicolas Quesada, University of Toronto, Canada (2014)

Yanhui Zhao, Penn State University, USA (2013)

Wilson Brenna, University of Waterloo, Canada (2012)